13.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces and Territories, 1867-1946, Legislatures and Prime Ministers, 1934-46, and Present Ministries as at Jan. 1, 1947—continued

NOVA SCOTIA

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission
LtGen. Sir William F. Williams. Major-Gen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle LtGen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle Joseph Howe. Sir Adams G. Archibald. Matthew Henry Richer. A. W. McLelan. Sir Malachy Bowes Daly. Sir Malachy Bowes Daly. Alfred G. Jones. Duncan C. Fraser.	Oct. 18, 1867 Jan. 31, 1868 ¹ May 1, 1873 July 4, 1873 July 4, 1873 July 4, 1883 July 9, 1888 July 11, 1890 July 29, 1895 ¹ July 26, 1900	DAVID MACKEEN. MACCALLUM GRANT. MACCALLUM GRANT. J. ROBSON DOUGLAS. JAMES C. TORY. FRANK STANFIELD. WALTER H. COVERT.	Nov. 29, 1916 Mar. 21, 1922 ¹ Jan. 12, 1925 Sept. 14, 1925 Nov. 19, 1930 Oct. 5, 1931 Apr. 7, 1937 May 31, 1940

¹Second term.

LEGISLATURES, 1934-461

Date of	Legislature	Number of	Date of	Date of
Election		Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1933 June 29, 1937 Oct. 28, 1941 Oct. 23, 1945	17th General Assembly 18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly	4 4	Mar. 1, 1934 Mar. 1, 1938 Feb. 19, 1942 Mar. 14, 1946	May 20, 1937 Sept. 19, 1941 Sept. 12, 1945 2

¹ The Ministries from 1934-46 were: 12th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 5, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. A. L. Macdonald; 13th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1940, under the leadership of Hon. A. S. MacMillan; 14th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 8, 1945, under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald, K.C. ² Life of Legislature not yet expired.

FOURTEENTH MINISTRY

(Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 23, 1945: 28 Liberals and 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

Note.—Ministers who have held office continuously are shown as at the date of original appointment, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of Appointment	
Premier and President of Council, Provincial Secretary and Treasurer	Hon. Angus L. Macdonald, K.C Hon. Josiah H. MacQuarrie, K.C Hon. A. W. Mackenzie. Hon. Frank R. Davis, M.D., C.M Hon. Lauchlin D. Currie, K.C Hon. Angus L. Macdonald, K.C Hon. Harold Connolly. Hon. J. Willie Comeau. Hon. Geoffrey Stevens.	Sept. 8, 1945 Sept. 5, 1933 Sept. 8, 1945 Sept. 5, 1933 Feb. 6, 1939 Sept. 18, 1945 Feb. 24, 1941 Sept. 5, 1933 Apr. 4, 1946	